Stokes named ICC player of the year after landmark 2019

Ben Stokes

Dubai – Ben Stokes was on Wednesday named the International Cricket Council
player of the year, capping an unforgettable 2019 for the swashbuckling
England all-rounder that included a match-winning knock at the World

Stokes won the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers trophy – voted
for by a panel of media representatives and former players – thanks to
an unbeaten 84 in a dramatic final against New Zealand in July followed
by a brilliant 135 not out to win the third Ashes Test against Australia
six weeks later.

Stokes, 28, said it was a huge honour for any cricketer to receive such an award.

“To be recognised and be the person to win that (award) it’s pretty amazing,” he said in a video statement.

the voting period, Stokes aggregated 719 runs and bagged 12 wickets in
20 ODIs. He also scored 821 runs and took 22 wickets in 11 Tests.

However, the New Zealand-born star said his award was not solely for him as an individual.

past 12 months have been incredible for England cricket and to lift the
ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time was our greatest
achievement,” said Stokes.

“This award is testament to my team-mates and the support staff that have been there every step of the way.

“Fundamentally, without the support of these individuals, we would never have achieved our objective of lifting a major trophy.”

who carried his form into this year with a man of the match performance
in the second Test victory over South Africa last week, said the strong
bonds between the players can lead to further success.

“There is
an incredible bond between team-mates and to savour our achievements,
whether that’s winning the World Cup final at Lord’s or digging deep to
win a Test match against Australia at Headingley,” said Stokes.

“It is satisfying you can accomplish these superb highs together.

last 12 months have been the best in my career, and I believe what we
attained will be the catalyst to achieve further success over the next
few years.”

Indian opener Rohit Sharma was named the ODI cricketer
of the year while captain Virat Kohli bagged the Spirit of Cricket
award for his gesture to stop fans from booing Australia’s Steve Smith
during a World Cup match.

Smith was returning to international cricket from a one-year suspension for changing the condition of the ball.

surprised that I have got it, after many years of being under the
scanner for the wrong things,” Kohli said in a statement put out by ICC.

“That moment was purely understanding an individual’s situation.
I don’t think a guy who is coming out of a situation like that needs to
be taken advantage of.”

Kohli was also named captain of both the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

other major awards, Australia fast bowler Pat Cummins was named the
Test player of the year and team-mate Marnus Labuschagne was declared
emerging cricketer of the year.

ICC men’s awards:

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Best Cricketer of the Year – Ben Stokes (England)

Test Cricketer of the Year – Pat Cummins (Australia)

ODI Cricketer of the Year – Rohit Sharma (India)

T20I Performance of the Year – Deepak Chahar (India, 6-7 v Bangladesh)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

Associate Cricketer of the Year – Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)

Spirit of Cricket Award – Virat Kohli stopping the fans booing Steve Smith at the Oval

David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year – Richard Illingworth

ICC Test Team of the Year (in batting order):

Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (captain), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav

Source link